HomeAbout the AuthorAbout the ProjectRelated TopicsLinksOrder the e-bookContact


Step 9: We recognize and respond to feelings of remorse in our daily meditation.

Principle: Justice

Remorse is one of the Five Hindrances which are obstacles to meditation, happiness and our ability to lead satisfying lives. During meditation we come to understand their power and begin to develop skills to overcome them, so they no longer have power over our thoughts and actions.

Text or Verse

Do not mislead anyone, or scorn anyone, anywhere.
Never wish for the suffering of others because you are angry or irritated.
The Buddha


Right Concentration (samadhi) which is the practice used to address the Five Hindrances, is a single-focused concentration. With this practice we place our attention on a single object, often the breath or a candle. We focus the mind on the object and let the thoughts which emerge come and go. We observe the thoughts, but do not attach our attention to them.

Jhana is meditative absorption which allows negative thoughts and influences to be released so that deeper insights can be realized. There are two aspects to Buddhist meditation, one is the ability to develop a sense of calm and tranquility (the mind chatter stops) which is called (samatha). The other aspect is insight (vipassana) which is the byproduct of first achieving a quiet, calm mind.


Mapping the Dharma: A Concise Guide to the Middle Way of the Buddha (go to Links menu to connect to the web site)

© 2009 Sacred Connections
revandrea@12wisdomsteps.com · 503-318-5438

Web Design by
Rareheron Web Design, Portland, OR