HomeAbout the AuthorAbout the ProjectRelated TopicsLinksOrder the e-bookContact


Step 11: We practice mindfulness in our meditation and in our daily living.


Principle: Spirituality

Mindfulness is being aware of the conditions of the mind (of your thoughts). In Buddhism we learn there is an "observer" which can step aside and observe both our thoughts and our actions. There is a rull range of conditions which can be experienced by the mind from serenity through fear and anxiety to the bliss of Nirvana. For any one to become fully awakened, they must learn the art and practice of mindfulness both during meditation and during normal day-to-day activities. Mindfulness keeps us in touch with ourselves and with the present moment. It provides the opportunity to make choices: changing our thinking, letting go of negative thoughts, and selecting actions from a range of options. With practice, mindfulness becomes a way of living.

Text or Verse

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change: the Four Noble Truths, impermanence, dependent origination, not-self and past karma.

The courage to change the things I can by being mindful in the present moment so that my thoughts, speech and actions will not harm myself or others now or in the future.

And the wisdom to know the difference between doing what is skillful and what is unskillful.

Meditate deeply.
The Dhammapada

If you meditate in earnest, with a pure mind and kind deeds,
leading a life with discipline and harmony with the dharma,
you will grow in glory. If you meditate in earnest, and have
spiritual discipline, you can create an island for yourself
that even floodwaters cannot overwhelm.
The Dhammapada


Mindfullness is a 2500 year old practice taught by the Buddha. It helps us learn the art of calm repose in all situations. It helps develop heightened attention and awareness. It is a practice that we can do as we go about our normal activities.

  1. Begin by mentally stopping the self-talk chatter.
  2. Become aware of your breathing.
  3. Become aware of your surroundings.
  4. Check in with each of your senses. What are they experiencing - sight, sound, smell, taste and touch.
  5. Allow any one of your senses to draw you into the experience of the present moment.
  6. Relish this sensory experience for as long as possible.
  7. When you are ready to move on express gratitude for the time spent in the eternal now.


Mapping the Dharma: A Concise Guide to the Middle Way of the Buddha (go to Links menu to connect to the web site)

© 2009 Sacred Connections
revandrea@12wisdomsteps.com · 503-318-5438

Web Design by
Rareheron Web Design, Portland, OR